Clothes hanging to dry on a line.

About Us

Building for Tomorrow

Map of the NANA region.

Alaska Native Corporation

NANA is a for-profit Alaska Native Corporation, formed as a result of the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act (ANCSA), which was passed by Congress in 1971.


NANA is owned by the more than 15,000 Iñupiaq shareholders, or descendants, who live in or have roots in Northwest Alaska. Iñupiat have close ties to the land and to each other. The word Iñupiat means “real people” in Iñupiaq, the language.

The NANA Region

The NANA region is located in Northwest Alaska, largely above the Arctic Circle, and encompasses 38,000-square miles.

The 11 communities in the NANA region are: Ambler (Ivisaappaat), Buckland (Nunatchiaq), Deering (Ipnatchiaq), Kiana (Katyaak), Kivalina (Kivaliñiq), Kobuk (Laugviik), Kotzebue (Qiqiktaġruk), Noatak (Napaaqtuġmiut), Noorvik (Nuurvik), Selawik (Akuligaq), and Shungnak (Isiŋnaq).

In 1976, 10 of the 11 village corporations merged with NANA. Kotzebue has retained its own village corporation, Kikiktagruk Iñupiat Corporation (KIC).