NANA Celebrates 50 Years of Alaska Native Strength


NANA is an Alaska Native corporation headquartered in Kotzebue which was incorporated in 1972 after the passage of the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act in 1971.

NANA is owned by Iñupiat shareholders who have roots in northwest Alaska. In 1991, the original shareholders voted to extend stock to eligible descendants. Today, NANA has more than 15,000 shareholders.

We are connected by our Iñupiat Iļitquisiat, those things that make us who we are, our values.

The 11 communities in the NANA region are: Ivisaappaat (Ambler), Nunatchiaq (Buckland), Ipnatchiaq (Deering), Katyaak (Kiana), Kivalliñiq (Kivalina), Laugviik (Kobuk), Qiqiktaġruk (Kotzebue), Napaaqtuġmiut (Noatak), Nuurvik (Noorvik), Akuligaq (Selawik) and Isiŋnaq (Shungnak).

World Class Business Partnerships

NANA’s family of companies are leaders in engineering and construction, facilities management and logistics, and information technology services. Our clients and partners are experienced professionals in a variety of industries, both commercial and federal.

Our Leadership Team

NANA is led by a board of 23 directors who are elected by fellow shareholders to represent their interests. In 1976, 10 of the 11 village corporations, except Kotzebue, merged with NANA. Each of the merged villages is representative by two directors. Two at-large directors complete the board.  

The senior management team is a well-established group of leaders, the majority of whom are shareholders, who bring decades of education, experience and commitment to NANA.

Kim Jorgensen

Kim Jorgensen