NANA President and CEO Appointed to Alaska Redistricting Board

Chief Justice Walter Carpeneti Appoints Alaska Native Leader to Final Seat

Juneau, Alaska  – Chief Justice Walter L. Carpeneti has announced the appointment of Marie Kasannaaluk Greene, President/CEO of NANA Regional Corporation, to the Alaska Redistricting Board.  Greene is the final member to be appointed to the five-member board, which is responsible for reapportioning the state house and senate districts following the 2010 U.S. Census.  Originally from the Native Village of Deering, Greene is an Inupiaq who currently serves on the Board of Directors of the Alaska Federation of Natives.  She has also served on many other boards and commissions, including NANA Services, Inc., OTZ Telephone Cooperative, Northwest Inupiat Housing Authority, Wells Fargo Bank, and Northwest Arctic Workforce Development and Education Consortium. 

Under Alaska’s Constitution, leaders of each branch of government make appointments to the redistricting board, in a specified order, and each of the four judicial districts in Alaska must be represented on the board.  Greene resides in the 2nd Judicial District, which encompasses the Northern and Northwest regions of the state.  She will join Albert Clough of Juneau (1st District) and John Torgerson of Soldotna (3rd District), both appointed by Governor Sean Parnell; Robert Brodie of Kodiak (3rd District), appointed by Senate President Gary Stevens; and Jim Holm of Fairbanks (4th District), appointed by Speaker of the House Mike Chenault.