NANA Elects Board Officers and Subsidiary Board

April 17, 2014 – Anchorage, Alaska - NANA Regional Corporation, Inc.’s (NANA) Board of Directors elected the following board officers at their regular April board meeting:

NANA BOARD CHAIRMAN          Nalikak Donald G. Sheldon

1ST VICE-CHAIR                            Itchauqiyaq Robert Sampson

2ND VICE-CHAIR                           Iriqtaq Pearl Gomez

SECRETARY                                  Piquk Linda Lee

TREASURER                                 Utuktauraq Ely Cyrus


The board elected Roland Booth to serve as Elder Advisor. The Elder Advisor is a non-voting board advisor that is 62 years-of-age or older, fluent in Iñupiaq and committed to the Iñupiat Iḷitqusiat values, and a NANA shareholder.

Additionally, NANA’s board elected four board members to serve on the nine-member board of its wholly-owned subsidiary, NANA Development Corporation (NDC): Igitaaŋuluk Henry Horner Sr., Sinaaqquq Harvey B. Vestal, Iikuluk Joseph T. Luther, Utuktauraq Ely Cyrus. NANA Development Corporation’s continuing directors are: Nalikak Donald G. Sheldon, Aliqsi Luke Sampson, Piquk Linda Lee, Suqqalik Allen Ticket Sr., and Alasuk Charlie Curtis.

ABOUT THE NANA BOARD: NANA Regional Corporation’s 23-member Board is elected by the Corporation’s more than 13,500 Iñupiat shareholders. The board structure consists of two Iñupiat shareholder board members from each NANA regional community (with the exception of Kotzebue with one board seat), two at-large seats and an Elder Advisor. Officers serve three-year terms. NANA’s board composition ensures that every decision and board action benefits NANA shareholders.

NANA Regional Corporation, Inc. (NANA) is one of the 13 Regional Alaska Native corporations (ANCs) created pursuant to the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act (ANCSA). NANA’s mission is to provide economic opportunities for its more than 13,500 Iñupiat shareholders and to protect and enhance NANA lands. Join the hunt at